If you go down to the woods today…

I’ve gone back to my parents’ house in Marlow, Buckinghamshire (UK) for the summer so when my boyfriend came to visit we decided to go and take a wander in my local woods. I haven’t been here since I was a child when I used to come here with my mother to make dens and it seems the use hasn’t changed. What I had forgotten is the interesting history of these particular woods. Pullingshill Woods and Marlow Common were used back before World War 1 as a training ground for the trenches. These trenches are the most complete training trenches in the UK which makes it a wonderful place for playing and making dens from the fallen sticks and logs. In the photos below you can see some of the dens left behind by some other children and the beautiful green of the woods. It’s places like this that remind me why I love Britain!

Instagram

3 thoughts on “If you go down to the woods today…

  1. GreenYonder says:

    How amazing! One of my favourite things to do as a child, was to build dens 🙂 a very creative time in any person’s life. Nice post, takes me back. Keep them coming …

    Like

Leave a Reply

